connect, grow & thrive.

Covid-19 New Measures- Friday December 11

The government has decided the following restrictions for the whole country beginning tonight at midnight and valid until January 22. 2021.

Closing time from 7 p.m.: Restaurants, bars, stores, museums, libraries, and sports and leisure facilities must close between 7 p.m. and 6 a.m. On December 24 and for New Year’s Eve, the curfew does not apply until 1 am. Takeaways and delivery services may continue to stay open until 11 p.m.

Cantons with a favorable epidemiological trend are allowed to extend the curfew to 11 pm. Cantons are also allowed to add extra measures should they choose to.

No tightening of private meetings: The Federal Council refrains from further restricting private meetings. It is sticking to the current regulation with a maximum of ten people. However, it strongly recommends limiting private meetings to two households.

Public events prohibited: Public events are prohibited with the exception of religious celebrations, funerals, political rallies and meetings of legislatures (up to 50 people).

Sports only with up to 5 people: Sports activities are now only allowed in groups of no more than five people. Contact sports remain prohibited. Group activities are also restricted to 5 people in the non-professional cultural sector.

Sports and cultural activities (without competitions) of children and young people up to 16 as well as training and competitions in professional sports remain permitted. Rehearsals and performances by professional artists are also permitted.

The numbers of cases are growing exponantially which is why the government has stepped in with the measures.

Ski resorts are mainly thought to be for domestic use, i.e. if possible no tourists should come to Switzerland to ski.

The government is putting 1.5 billion rancs aside to help “hard hit” businesses. Details as to who this could be will be shared at a later date.

The list of countries requiring people to quarantine upon their return in Switzerland has grown. Satrting December 14 the following countries will be affected:

Andorra, Georgia, Jordan, Croatia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Montenegro, North Macedonis, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Serbia, Slowenia, Hungary, United States of America as well as the Italian regions of Emilia Romagna, Friaul-Julisch Venetia, Venice and from Austria the regions of Kärnten, Oberösterreich, Salzburg and Steiermark.

Charlie Hartmann is the managing director of the Livingin organisation which focuses on helping international residents connect, grow and thrive in Switzerland.